Am I Email Spamming?
This is an automatically generated Delivery Status Notification.
Delivery to the following recipients failed due to a permanent error.
:
Message size is over the account capacity— The failed email headers.
Return-Path:
Received: (qmail 15894 invoked by uid 1004); 21 May 2005 05:23:50 -0000
Received: from unknown (HELO vrmtyqqj.com) (67.168.135.105)
by gawab.com with SMTP; 21 May 2005 05:23:50 -0000
X-Trusted: Blacklisted
From: geminigeek@gmail.com
To: qmail@alexandria.cc
Date: Sat, 21 May 2005 05:25:56 UTC
Subject: The Whore Lived Like a German
Importance: Normal
X-Priority: 3 (Normal)
MIME-Version: 1.0
Message-ID: <1cf3.0adcbc5778c@gmail.com>
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=”us-ascii”
Have I been spamming? I’ve been getting this “Delivery Status Notification (failure)” thing in my inbox, though I never send those email. Look at what “I have send”, the subject says, “The Whore Lived Like a German”. What the hell?
How is it for someone to use my email to send spam? Or is it my gmail has been hacked? ![]()
Popularity: 2% [?]
May 21st, 2005 at 3:59 pm
Saw your website from Project Petaling Str.
Don’t worry my friend. It’s not your fault. Anyone can send mail with any email address they want and recently a lot of email spread viruses are doing the same thing. And when the email gets delivered to a non-existence recipients, it’ll be, natuarally, be bounced back to the address specified in the From: field, which in this case is your email even though you did not do anything.
So don’t worry about it. Just ignore those mails. I myself get tens of such mails each day.
May 21st, 2005 at 5:15 pm
owh great… im so worried my email got blacklisted :yikes:
May 21st, 2005 at 8:23 pm
Uzyn, Your explanation seems illogical!
Can you kindly explain H O W did geminigeek@gmail.com enter the From field?
May 21st, 2005 at 10:19 pm
i think it’s quite possible, but im not sure. My wordpress has this notification thing, and whenever there’s comments on my blog, there will be message mail-ed to me. what’s weird is, the message sent is from the email address that you all fill when you all wanted to comment this blog. I think it’s the STMP thing-ey, but im not sure. :yikes:
May 23rd, 2005 at 12:03 am
I’ve just sent an email to geminigeek@gmail.com with the from field as geminigeek@gmail.com
It is possible. From: field is defined by user.
May 23rd, 2005 at 1:51 pm
May 24th, 2005 at 5:42 pm
they filter spam from incoming and outgoing servers ler….so means if they detect spam on the outgoing it would be filtered as well….thus even SMTP servers are filtered
June 4th, 2005 at 8:56 am
I get that at least every few months at work since I maintain our emai servers — it is very frustrating!
October 26th, 2006 at 2:32 am
I am getting same email. I am also using wordpress and SquirelMail.